Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi,

Hoping someone can help me...

There is a strong possibility that I won't be legible for SFE, as I haven't been resident in the UK/EEU for 3 years. I'm a mature student, and am dependent on my mother - who has been in the UK/EEU for 11 years.

Thus, I need to apply for finance through a private loans company - any suggestions?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ClaireFad)
    any suggestions?
    Wait until you've been in the UK for three years and then go to uni.

At that point you'll be eligible for both Student Finance and the much (much) lower Home/UK tuition fees.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Klix88)
    Wait until you've been in the UK for three years and then go to uni.

At that point you'll be eligible for both Student Finance and the much (much) lower Home/UK tuition fees.
    Thank Klix88, I'm an EU Citizen, and eligible for Home/UK Tuition fees already... And being a bit old (haha - 28) I don't really want to wait three years longer.. :'(

ReputationRep:
    Thank Klix88, I'm an EU Citizen, and eligible for Home/UK Tuition fees already... And being a bit old (haha - 28) I don't really want to wait three years longer.. :'(
    I went to uni aged 44, so being 28 is nothing!

Waiting is a far better option than getting locked into a lengthy commercial+ loan.
    • Section Leader
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Klix88)
    I went to uni aged 44, so being 28 is nothing!

Waiting is a far better option than getting locked into a lengthy commercial+ loan.
    ^this

And 3 years of earning a wage will reduce your need for the maintenance loan.

ReputationRep:
    I agree with both the oldies above (and I'm older than both of them.) Avoid having a millstone of private debt around your neck. Work and wait.
    • Section Leader

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Carnationlilyrose)