Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Teaching with Policing Degree Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,,

I currently work as a Police Officer looking to move into teaching. I am currently undertaking a Policing Degree through work, which saves me some pennies and means I can do it as part of my work. This is much easier than completing a P/T Primary Education Degree with OU whilst I work.

My main query is would I be able to enter as a primary school teacher with the Policing degree or would it be better to bite the bullet and do the Primary Education degree.

I take it after the degree I would then have to undertake a PGCE?

Thanks in advance!
    • Community Assistant
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    I could be wrong but I always thought you can do a Primary PGCE with any degree as long as you have GCSEs in English, maths and science and an A level in a curriculum subject. Contact PGCE providers and ask them if you'd meet the requirements with a policing degree, that's the only way to know for sure.

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

Thanks for the reply!

I thought that also but was slightly worried if that degree would be seen as less favorable when it comes to applying for PGCE or job interviews afterwards. I do have GCSE's at the required level as well as History, Geography and Business Studies A Levels.

Do you think this would be an issue?

Ta

ReputationRep: