Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Oxbridge possibilities? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I am a foreign student studying in 5th year (Scottish Qualifications) in a private school in Scotland.
    I have a couple of questions regarding Oxbridge and the medical courses there so it would be a great help if you can give me any advice! Thank you in advance!
    I came from a very unique background and always moved around and I'm aspiring to do medicine. I am currently taking AH Math (a year early), and English and the three sciences at Higher. I'm also doing 3 Japanese exams this year (2 which are from the English system and one exam which is international). Will taking Math a year early benefit me in any way?

- First of all, as a foreigner I am worried about if there is any discrimination taking place during Oxbridge applications. How do they see foreign students? I am multilingular (4 languages and all of them fluent including English) - will that be an advantage? Are there more places offered to EU students than non-EU?

- Secondly, I always read about people who take 14 GSCEs in England and it really scares me - I dont take as many subjects as that. Does Oxbridge prefer English Qualifications to Scottish ones? Does it treat them equally? Does quantity matter?

-Thirdly, regarding subject choice - is there a preference for 4 Advanced Highers, or is taking 3 normal? Is taking English a good choice in this case (even if it isnt directly medically or science related).

- Fourthly, regarding exams. As I understand correctly, UKCAT, BMAT and individual entrance exams have to be taken to get into Oxbridge? For the individual college exams, do you need knowledge of particular subjects to answer the questions? Or is it very generic?

- Fifthly, does taking gap years make a difference? Is it regarded as a good thing and are they any preferences in what you do?