Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm wondering whether to come to KCL to study Philosophy, Religion and Ethics. I was just wondering if current students would really recommend KCL or going elsewhere. I'm also thinking about Durham. I have a few questions about being a student in London. Thanks for any replies
    As a student do you get the most out of living in London ie. do you go to exhibitions etc?
    Is it really expensive?
    Is it easy to play sports and be part of a team?
    Is having to catch the tube everywhere annoying?
    Is the house you live in in second and third year nice or would you say uni's in other cities get a better quality?
    Thanks again!

ReputationRep:
    Speaking for myself:

As a student do you get the most out of living in London ie. do you go to exhibitions etc?
    I studied Classics so I went to museums of one sort or another nearly every week. I didn't go to many events or exhibitions because I don't find them interesting or good value for money, in London or anywhere else.

Is it really expensive?
    Some things in London are drasticallly more expensive than in other parts of the UK, such as alcohol, decent restaurant food and rent. Other things are the same as anywhere else. It's not difficult to live on a budget, after all if you don't go to restaurants and aren't a heavy drinker then that just leaves rent, and maybe travel costs. That being said I lived 20 minutes walk from the city centre so I didn't really have transport costs except the odd bus (which are a lot cheaper than buses in some parts of the UK and usually the best way of getting around. I rarely went on the tube). My rent was quite high, but finding a cheaper place out in the suburbs would not have been much less expensive including the extra travel costs, and it's much nicer to walk into uni than stand on a packed train every morning.

Is it easy to play sports and be part of a team?