Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi there.

This is my first post I believe, so please forgive me.

A little while ago I applied for a BA course in Games Design in Brunel University. I have just spoken to one of the people from the admissions desk, and I am a little knocked back by the conversation we just had.

I am currently studying at the Plymouth College of Art on a similar course (BA Hons in Game Arts). I am coming up to the end of my level zero foundation year, and were looking to try out one of the universities in London that offered a similar course, but with better employment connections.

The level zero course doesn't offer any qualifications in it's own right, so I didn't include that on the qualifications section within the main application as I felt it didn't apply. Being the literal thinker I am due to my autism, I took the question in black and white, however I proceeded to explain my current studying situation at PCA within my personal statement.

Unfortunately I didn't complete any GCSEs at school - this would have been fifteen years ago, making me a mature student. I never actually attended my GCSEs due to the fact I was too scared to even go in to school, as I was heavily bullied (even to the point of hospitalisation on a few accounts). Therefore I received U grades in everything.

At the time I was also caring for my mentally ill mother, and since moving away I almost had a scrape with homelessness due to social breakdown. I have worked in various jobs since then, but started the course at PCA in September last year.