Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So I am having some trouble getting together the curtail information and I always seem to worry about what I am going to write because I really want this summer placement as I have no experience and this is my last year to gain some....

I have two questions that i need to answer for a construction company..

1.In no more than 500 characters, please explain why you would like to work for BAM?
    2.In no more than 500 characters please explain why you wish to pursue a career in construction?

ReputationRep:
    It is a common misconception that Summer Placements and work experience are important factors in finding work. Work Employers look for several things:

1) General hygiene and cleanliness (make yourself presentable), cover any 'offensive' tattoos, remove piercings, wash your hair and body regularly and apply minimal makeup- this makes you appear low maintenance and therefore punctual and available in an emergency. Many skills are developed within the working environment, rather than through education or placements.

2) Be honest, this applies for you. Come across as eager and motivated, explain that this is your last chance to gain work experience, this will make you seem slightly 'desperate' and therefore willing to put in the effort, determined to make a good impression. Remember, many people will be applying for the same thing, using the same quotes and cliches. You need to present something refreshing, honest and relevant.