Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I have a question regarding the £10,000 Postgraduate Loans beginning this summer. My question is in regards to eligibility.

I am English but I am studying (and, therefore, living) in Wales. I intend on doing a 1-year taught Masters at a Welsh university after I graduate this summer. Will I be eligible to claim this Postgraduate Loan?

I am asking because the information regarding the loan thus far is quite confusing. For example, one SFE pdf I have read says "you must normally live in England". What, exactly, does that entail? I am English, I lived there for 19 years. My family live there. I go back there to visit. But I study in Wales so I kinda have to live in Wales...

Above that section of the same document it says "We provide financial support on behalf of the government to students in England studying in the UK." On that basis I am eligible because I am English but study in another UK country, right?

My university's postgraduate page says "Loans of up to £10,000 will be available to English domiciled students studying master's level courses at a UK university, including X University." For example, what is meant here by "English domiciled"? Does that simply mean English students, or do I myself have to somehow live in England while I study in Wales in order to get this loan?

[EDIT:] I have now just read "Available to English domiciled students (this includes those currently studying in Wales)." So will I be eligible, even if I live in Wales as a result of studying there?