Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

What should I do in my career? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I studied photography/graphic design at University. If I'm, honest, it was a bit pointless. It allowed me to be creative, I learned all about the software, had time to look for clients etc, but with creative courses, you can easily learn things like software at home with YouTube tutorials and through tutorial websites. Anything creative (like photography, design etc) seems pointless at University. I think University feels only worth it if you study things like Maths, Law, Science, a language, or if you want to become a Doctor and things like that.

I've been trying for photography or graphic design style jobs ever since I graduated, and I've had no luck. I always had an interest in journalism but I'm not too sure about that now. I recently had a work placement in journalism and I wasn't keen on it.

I work full-time in retail. It's not a bad job, I quite like it. My dream was always to work in TV/media and do things like camera work. But... last year I was offered the opportunity to progress to retail management because my managers were impressed with my work. I didn't take it because at the time, I wanted to follow my dream.

However, it's been 3 years (this Summer) since I graduated and I've not got anywhere because people either don't reply to emails or phone calls, it's a "thank you but no thank you", or they say i've not got enough experience - when places don't offer experience.

Should I go into retail management instead? What should I do? Or should I try and see if I can study something entirely new like business? Or go into a different type of career?

ReputationRep:
    Out of interest how many TV production companies did you apply to?

You really have to be motivated and thick skinned to get your first job in media.

How many kit hire places did you apply to for work experience?