Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi guys, I'm currently studying Biology, Chemistry and french with the hope of going on to study medicine at uni. My academic tutor has advised me that writing an extended essay would be a great thing to do; though it wont help me with my actual application it will help me with my writing skills (as i'll have written the sort of essay constantly needed to be written at uni) and because it may give me a greater scope of discussion at interviews. the problem at the moment is that i can't come up with a solid question to do with medicine. ive tried making a spider diagram to try and narrow my foundation ideas of "doctors" and "treatments" but am yet to decide on a single question! PLEASE CAN SOMEONE HELP ME HAHA!!!

ReputationRep:
    do you have any rough areas you want to talk about?

are you thinking specifics like neurology, pathology etc?

ReputationRep:
    Try putting a question into Google scholar to see if there is plenty of research and literature for you to analyse and draw conclusions from. If you want to use contemporary media reports too you could try looking at questions around things like:

Relationships between "never events" and staffing levels
    Hours worked by junior doctors in Europe vs USA
    Anti-vaxxers and the involvement of social media/lay person reporting
    Antibiotic resistance
    And hot potato - meningitis b vaccine availability on the NHS.

Literature searches and reviews are a key part of undergrad study. Being able to source, evaluate and draw conclusions from a variety resources is an excellent skill to pick up. Have a go at Harvard style referencing too.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by kelefi)
    do you have any rough areas you want to talk about?

are you thinking specifics like neurology, pathology etc?