Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have got offer of MSc Actuarial Science from three schools, Heriot-Watt, Leicester and Southampton. All of these three schools provide exemption from Subjects CT1-CT8. I am an international student and may go back to my home country to work as an actuary after graduation. Please give me some advice on which schools should I choose.

Thanks a lot!

ReputationRep:
    Anyone can give me some advice?
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by orkar2006)
    Anyone can give me some advice?
    Hi Orkar2006

I've asked our academic here who oversees Actuarial Science to have a think about this and have chased him just now so we should have some more info for you soon.

Cheers

Sophie
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by orkar2006)
    I have got offer of MSc Actuarial Science from three schools, Heriot-Watt, Leicester and Southampton. All of these three schools provide exemption from Subjects CT1-CT8. I am an international student and may go back to my home country to work as an actuary after graduation. Please give me some advice on which schools should I choose.

Thanks a lot!
    Hi

It's great to hear that Heriot-Watt is one of your choices. here are just some reasons why we may be the right choice for you -

- 8 possible exemptionsfrom IFoA exams
    - expertise: more than half the courses are taught by actuaries
    - Students Actuarial Society: lots of activities including presentations from employers, skills development (eg mock assessment centre), and annual SAS conference. Also option to join Faculty of Actuaries Students Society, organised by actuaries who work in companies and which allows you to meet and mix with real-life actuarial trainees and actuaries