Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So i've recently decided to sort out my life and move into a much healthier lifestyle. Being a complete beginner with **** all strength I decided StrongLifts 5x5 would be the best for me to start with.

The main problem is I dont feel my squatting form is very good, im 6'2" and have relatively long legs therefore I find it difficult to hit below parallel without jerking my hips out and having a wide stance.

Another problem thats really been slowing my progress is squats are killing my outer knees, theres no swelling or anything but its very painful when i bent them, i read up it might be ITBS but im not 100% sure.

So to round it up, what is wrong with my form? What can I do to correct it? What can I do to stop getting outside knee pain?

Much love to anyone who can help out

ReputationRep:
    Bump?

ReputationRep:
    I'm not an expert, but my first thought was that you are dropping down very quickly, as if you are falling. Maybe if you tried to squat down in a more slow, controlled manner?

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • TSR Support Team
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Ekno)
    So i've recently decided to sort out my life and move into a much healthier lifestyle. Being a complete beginner with **** all strength I decided StrongLifts 5x5 would be the best for me to start with.

The main problem is I dont feel my squatting form is very good, im 6'2" and have relatively long legs therefore I find it difficult to hit below parallel without jerking my hips out and having a wide stance.

Another problem thats really been slowing my progress is squats are killing my outer knees, theres no swelling or anything but its very painful when i bent them, i read up it might be ITBS but im not 100% sure.

So to round it up, what is wrong with my form? What can I do to correct it? What can I do to stop getting outside knee pain?