Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

On my syllabus it says the following points but I do not know how to explain them.

Explain the importance of water potential and osmosis in the uptake of water by plants
    Explain the importance of water potential and osmosis on animal cells and tissues

I would really appreciate any help!
    Thanks you

ReputationRep:
    Nice question!

Wow, GCSE and using the term 'water potential'. Ok I'll try my best to answer your questions (I'm just an average A level student so please take what I write with a pinch of salt!)

Just before I tackle the questions I should probably make sure you understand what water potential and osmosis mean.
    The formal definition of osmosis isL 'The net movement of water molecules from a region of higher water potential to a region of lower water potential down a water potential gradient through a partially permeable membrane until dynamic equilibrium is reached'.
    This essentially means that the net effect of osmosis is water will move in down a concentration gradient (of water) until theres no longer a concentration gradient there (since more water has moved into the lower concentration than has left the lower concentration of water solution)
    Water potential is just a fancy word for 'concentration of water'

Explain the importance of water potential and osmosis in the uptake of water by plants
    Where do plants get water from?
    1. The soil (root hair cells actively transport salts out into the soil, lowering water potential, so water moves in by osmosis into the root hair cells).
    2. Respiration (Aerobic respiration will produce water as a by-product. Btw I've got no idea how significant the volume of water produced is through respiration, but it produces it anyway).

Why do plants specifically need water?