Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

So ive been driving for more than 3 years now and recently i have had a problem. When i change from 1st to second and second to 3rd my car over revs. But anything higher is okay (3rd to 4th etc). I am starting to think that i am losing it. But i dont think its me, i am carefully watching how much I press on the accelerator.

It revs really high when i press down on the clutch to change gear for like a second .

And thats also another issue. Everytime i get in my car in the morning and set off i hear a sort of click somewhere in my car. I cant describe the sound, but it doesnt sound good. And when break at the end of my road i hear a lot of scraping. But then its gone....he rest of the journey no clicks and scraping.

My car is dying....its only 3 years old...

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Not sure about the clicks or anything else, but I'd presume the scraping is just rust being scraped off the brake discs.

ReputationRep:
    Ditto the above, cheap brake discs begin to corrode really quickly and can have a thin lair of rust on the surface after ~24hrs of sitting. The initial grinding is just the brake pads scraping the lair of rust off of the rotor and is cmpletely normal, however if the noise continues during longer drives, get it checked out as it can indicate that there is excess wear on your brake pads which will affect your braking force, this is a cheap fix though even if there is an issue.

Clicking, no idea without hearing it, if its a soft click it could be a utility belt slipping slightly (this is common when its cold), if its a sharp click it could be an electrical relay, which really could be anything, I wouldnt worry about it.