Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a mature student, studied law before and been living in the UK for years now. I've always been interested in medicine and really considering to start prepping for a med school application this year.

I have done A-levels prior in my country of origin (EU), however my selected subject weren't science based at the time, as for law I didn't need those. So, I reckon I'd need to complete at least Biology and Chemistry A levels here in the UK.

Could you please recommend a good self-study book for these two subjects, especially in regards to medical degree? (if such relation can be made...I have no idea of the A level course books in general. I know at the time prepping for law, we'd need to pick different history books than prospective history bachelors, as our entry history exam questions were a bit different.)

I did of course do a Google search and read recommendations from different sites, but everybody seems to be suggesting different books and at this stage I'm just getting more and more confused. Thought this would be a good place to ask.

Cheers

ReputationRep:
    It depends on which board you wanna do, but there is pretty much always an "official" textbook for each board like for CIE Chemistry - http://education.cambridge.org/as/su...second-edition) this is used. One is pretty much all you need and it's pretty simple to understand. Just memorise it back to front then do a lot of past paper and that was more than enough for me for an A*. If there's anything you don't understand look up on Chemguide (http://www.chemguide.co.uk/), it gives different approaches to explanation and is a bit more detailed.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by avanik)
    Hi,

I'm a mature student, studied law before and been living in the UK for years now. I've always been interested in medicine and really considering to start prepping for a med school application this year.