The Student Room Group

A-Level English Language (9093)

I am a private student in pakistan giving A-level English Language, yhat is why I need a lot of help from you people.
can you give me a sample answer to "Comment on the ways in which language and style are used" like what should we write in it?
and "Compare the language and style of Text A and Text B."
and i also dont know what to do in paper 4
can anyone help me......PLZ
thanks in advance :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Hello Hera

To my understanding, the first question ask you to make a commentary. This means that you would have to thoroughly read the text given and annotate any writer's effect. Start by focusing just on the text and get a general understanding of it. Identify what genre the text belong to and who is the intended audience. Try and find the purpose of the text.

After getting the meaning of the text read and annotate notes on how the writer uses their writing style and vocabulary to achieve this purpose. For example, if the text is a travel advertisement then the writer might use hyperbole such as "So relaxing you will melt into a puddle" or elaborate adjectives such as "sun kissed beaches". The writer might make the sentences short and understandable. They might use specific terms to appeal to certain audiences such as "eraser" rather than "rubber". In fact there are many examples in the text that you would have to pick out the BEST ones.

Then try to link the argument together and analysis how this applies to the text. For example, the writer used the adjective "sun kissed" to describe the beach because it allows the interested readers an imagery of a beautiful beach blessed with lots of sunshine and good weather which may attract visitors.

Overall your essay may appear like this
Paragraph 1: Genre, Audience, Main purpose
Paragraph 2: Writer's effect with example and explanation
Paragraph 3: Another writer's effect with example and explanation