Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey folks

I'm a law grad and planning on going to study a masters in Gender, Conflict and Human Rights and I need advice on two main things, any help would be greatly appreciated.

The first is the application itself, the personal statement is 500 words which is no problem but is there any theme that should always be involved in a masters personal statement or any guides people found useful when completing theirs?

The second is just the references, do they need to be academic or mixed?

The main thing is the background knowledge itself, I have studied conflict and human rights in depth but I feel I'm really lacking on gender theory, could anyone recommend some texts to introduce me and start me off?

Thanks folks!

ReputationRep:
    For any postgrad application you need to answer these 3 questions:
    1) Why this program/course? (what have you done in your first degree and/or what do you want to do next that makes this course an obvious stepping stone).
    2) Why this University? (what research is going on there that makes you want to go to only that Uni, or any other reasons)
    3) Why me? (time to *really* sell yourself and make it clear that you are the only person they could possible make an offer to!).

References - definitely both academic, unless you have been out of Uni for more than a few years and have a reference from a very appropriate employer (ie. work directly connected to your proposed course). If in doubt, make them both from academics, and preferably with an interest in the subject you are applying for.