Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying Spanish for my upcoming GCSE's. I have no desire to pursue foreign languages in the future as my true passion lies in English (if you're wondering why I have taken it, it was compulsory)

I have just received my predicted grades and unsurprisingly, I am predicted to attain a G in Spanish. Although this is upsetting, I feel that it is necessary for me to focus on improving my performance in core subjects such as Maths and Science as although I am doing well, there is room for improvement.

Will the failure of my Spanish GCSE hinder my future career prospects? I would like to eventually join the police force. Thanks for your help in advance.

ReputationRep:
    I got really into learning Spanish and got an A in GCSE when I was younger. I would say that most languages are mostly pointless and no it won't hinder your chances in the police.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by karl pilkington)
    I got really into learning Spanish and got an A in GCSE when I was younger. I would say that most languages are mostly pointless and no it won't hinder your chances in the police.
    I'm fearful that such a low grade will look bad on my police application.

ReputationRep:
    I don't know about the gcse programme but if it's similar to standard grade, you shouldn't have to do a ton of work to at least get a pass, I did a crash higher and got an A so if you're taking it anyway, you might as well put 10 minutes aside some days to revise

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mollycatb)
    I'm fearful that such a low grade will look bad on my police application.