Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have been researching for the last two months on UK universities to apply to and I just the need the last piece to the puzzle.

I will be applying (next year) to Oxford PPE, UCL PPE, LSE Gov't & History. The main problem is how do I create a personal statement that pleases both Oxford and LSE. From what I have heard is that both universities are extremely picky, and there is no one in my area that has any experience with UK schools.

Are these courses related enough to write a personal statement or will I be putting myself in a stupid position? Any advice to make this kind of personal statement would be greatly appreciated!
    • TSR Support Team
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    It is definitely possible to write a personal statement for both PPE and Government and History. In the UK personal statements are very academic and completely different to American college essays. They will expect you to talk about your academic interests, what you want to study and why, give specific examples of your interests and how you've explored them in your own time (books, lectures etc). What aspect of politics and history do you like? Can you find a link between them?

If you haven't already I suggest you read this article. Also, click here to see a library of old personal statements, good place to get some ideas. There is also a personal statement builder which might prove useful.

ReputationRep:
    What reading have you been doing?

(Original post by Americanballa)
    I have been researching for the last two months on UK universities to apply to and I just the need the last piece to the puzzle.