Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm thinking of choosing Chemistry as an A level, lots of people that i know have told me not to choose this subject because it is very hard. I understand that there's a massive jump from GCSE to A-LEVELS but would i be able to cope if i go over my notes after each lesson and concentrate? What type of stuff do you learn?

ReputationRep:
    I'm not going to sugar coat it for you it is difficult, like harder than you can imagine, the context is relatively easy it's just hugely important to review and revise.
    I got an A in my GCSE chemistry last year, along with 2A*, 7As and a B so I wouldn't call myself a 'lower grade student' I'm currently studying AS chemistry and getting a U. However I've been told that's normal at this stage although with exams in May dawning I'm crazy stressed :doh:
    2 people in my class are on A grades and the rest Us, which considering I only have a class of 7 isn't great. Despite this I think the class size and the course is great however you need to be ready for it, let's say I've learnt a few lessons since my mock exam.
    The As exam is split into depth and breadth. The contents in this include foundations in chemistry, the periodic table and energy and core organic chemistry. There's some great topics like electron, bonding and structure and some that well everyone struggles at least a little about. I'd suggest looking online maybe on YouTube at revision videos so you get the jist of what sort of thing you can expect. I'd say if you need it go for it, with hard work and dedication you'll be a flying success (unlucky myself ) but if you don't need it for your uni course choose something your good at to raise those grades!
    Hope I've helped, feel free to ask anything else

ReputationRep: