Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello I have a question about Open University Modules. I need to find out if Open University modules that you study part time are classed as whole years when applying for student finance. For example. This year (2015/2016) i have done a computing 30 credit part time module (10 hours a week study). This is the only course I have done this year. The module was £1350 and i studied it over one year. Here is a run down of the Open University modules I have had support for in the past:

2013/14 - £2562 - Open University Module (Part time study) - Completed
    2014/15 - £1316 - Open University Module (Part time study) - Completed
    2015/16 - £1350 - Open University Module (Part time study) - Still studying (finishes May 2016)

I want to apply for funding for a full time foundation degree at University of Central Lancashire ( 1st year - 4,000, years 2 to 4 - 9,000 each.

I guess my question is, are open university modules, even though they are part time study classed as a full years worth of funding? I have only had a total of £5228 of funding in total during the open university over 3 years of study, this is just less than one year full time funding so if i follow the above calculations, i should be entitled to another 4??? but i heard the student finance company don't go off amounts they go off how many years you have studied for???

Please can someone clear this up for me as I am getting different answers off different people :/

ReputationRep:
    Just bumping this as I need to know, as well. In my case, I studied with the OU over two years for 90 credits and about £2000-ish.

Assuming that my two years of part-time OU study are counted as full years for the purposes of HE funding, would I be correct in thinking that leaves me with two years of remaining loan?

Seems stupid, really, as 90 credits doesn't even equate to a full year of study.