The Student Room Group

Interested in teaching. Where to start?

Hi guys,

I'll give a bit of background first as I don't have any experience around teaching. I graduated last year from York with a 2:2 in economics which wasn't great but I had some big mitigating circumstances from my second year which dragged me down. I took a bit of time out travelling this year to think about what I wanted to do next. Doing an economics degree I always had ideas of going into the city after university but an office job 9-5 seems really uninteresting to me right now and not the right career for me. It struck me earlier this week after talking to a friend who's currently doing a PGCE and teaching in a school about how rewarding a career in teaching is compared to a more 'normal' job, the satisfaction of helping students cannot be compared to. Combined with this I have a passion for mathematics and would love to be able to teach it. I've always performed well at the subject, even at university I still got firsts on my maths modules, and have found it to be more engaging then anything else i've done. After talking to a few more people doing teaching i'm aware of the challenges but i'm really keen on pursuing a career.

I'm aware of schemes such as Teach First and Schools Direct but my issue lies in how to get the experience to make it onto a teaching course and the route through which I should do it. Any suggestions or links to materials which can help me gain ideas in order to make a start towards becoming a maths teacher would be of great help.

TL;DR- Had an epiphany that I would like to teach Maths. No experience in the area and would like to get started.
Reply 1
Original post by Benny100
Hi guys,