Turn on thread page Beta

Do I Have Any Hope? watch

ReputationRep:
    I am almost done with my DPLP.

I have a lot of work experience (shadowing, work experience and internship with commercial firm), good extra curriculars, a solid 2:1 (although with some pretty shocking 1st/2nd year results) at undergrad, however, I have no training contract.

I have applied to commercial firms this year for vacation schemes in the hope that they will take me on for a training contract, but I feel like I may have set my sights too high. I'm now running the risk of not even getting into a summer scheme this year, setting me back even further!

Is there anyone else who has been in my position and has come out on top? I feel like I'm never going to get anywhere and I've no chance of getting into a good training contract following my DPLP. This means it will have been a massive waste of time AND money!

ReputationRep:
    Don't panic and keep trying. You haven't said what your A levels/highers are like.

Is that having an effect? Do you meet the academic criteria of the firm's you are applying to?

If you do, then have a look at your experience. You have shadowing and law experience. Do you have pro bono? Do you have teamwork? Do you have positions of responsibility? Do you come over as a well rounded and driven individual?

Look at your apps, so you answer the questions asked? Do you research and tailor each application? Do you show clearly why law? Why that firm?
    U guess is you need to regroup, get as much input as you can from careers and your tutors and look to strengthen your apps.

Have a look at some of the profiles of trainees at your target firms. Do they look committed and driven with varied backgrounds, a real mix of work experience and achievements combined with excellent academics? I bet they do.

So these people, or people very like them, are who you are up against.