Turn on thread page Beta

Studying degree to Mental Health nursing straight after finishing my degree. watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

Thanks for taking the time to read this - to start of with I'm not asking for answers but more a discussion so no pressure to solve my problems.

I'm currently in my second year of a Music Business Degree at BIMM Brighton and I'm really not enjoying it, I've found I'm quite academic and can do well at most subjects (bar math) and enjoy getting good grades sometimes more than the actual subject. The subject and degree content really disinterests me and truthfully I can't see myself being in the industry and being happy. I don't feel it's fulfilling enough for me personally. For a very long time I've wanted to become a support worker/mental health nurse but ruled it off as at the time I was heavily involved in music and was encouraged by parents/school I studied a BTEC Level 3 in music rather than health/social sciences which I regret now. I can apply for student finance after my degree for nursing as it's NHS and I feel it's a waste not to finish this degree as it something to fall back on if **** hits the fan.

I have a gut feeling when I leave all I want to do is study as a nurse I would have to study for 4 years inc/ access to HE 1 year foundation degree. I started my degree at 18 and will be 21 when I graduate - another fear of mine. I rent a flat with my boyfriend so going home to figure stuff out is not for me. I am going to gain experience in a nursing home and volunteering in a medical/occupational setting and possibly a NHS hospital prior to committing. Should I just go with my gut? - If I'm just working for a year or two I feel I'll be go mad. I understand how hard mental health nursing is I've looked up a lot on the internet and talked to a friend who is studying the same degree at the same Uni I'd like to go to.

Thoughts? Experiences?

Every little helps.

Love. xxx
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep: