Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How do you deal with regret from a missed opportunity? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Recently I have missed a chance to do something I've wanted to do for a while due to a dumb decision I made months ago.

I will begin by saying i am a regular drummer and have played many small gigs with little bands at my school yet i have never played at the big venue in my local town, this venue i have wanted to play at for a while with a good band.
    I was in this small 4 piece indie rock band for a couple of months and it wasn't going too well, i hated the lead singing and we just didn't seem to be doing anything so i didn't think much about it.

one day the lead singer rang me really pissed off and said that i need to turn up to more rehearsals and the problem i had was i was swamped with A level work as i had just begun further maths. I didn't want to drag them down so i told them that i will let them find a new drummer who has more free time.
    It was fair enough and at the time it seemed like the best idea.
    So they decided to grab a new drummer and i stopped speaking to them completely.

Within a few weeks they had already booked multiple gigs at this venue I always wanted to play at, and had written plenty of songs, at this time i was at peace with it because i knew i was just too busy to commit and just said to myself "don’t think about it".
    Then recently their debut gig happened and literally EVERYONE went from my school and it was a massive deal. I decided to tag along and support them and I feel that wasn’t a very good idea.

I really wanted them to be bad!
    They ended up being really good!
    At this point i started to be hit by the horrid feeling of regret of leaving the group.

I keep telling myself that i have to move on and i am sure there will be more opportunities but i feel i really missed out of being part of this event.