Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Quick backstory:
    I'm a 17yr from the UK. The past 2-3 years have been dreadful. We (my family) found out that my mother is depressed, but also an alcoholic. She also goes out of her way to hide it, so we never truly know when she is drinking and when she is not. She has tried to get counselling, and I have tried many a time to find out what started it off, but both with no effect. Her illness has consequently put a strain on her and my fathers marriage.

Just today, my father found a reciept in the car for a bottle of alcohol, and so there's a chance that she is drinking and taking the stupid risk of driving.

I'm currently studying in College and with exams coming up soon, me (and my older Sister) cannot afford this additional stress - I already had to do so when I sat my GCSEs.

We just don't know what to do, so I just simply ask if anyone can help or suggest what we should do next, it would be priceless, we just want her back to who she used to be.

Personally, I don't think counselling will help because they will only say things the person wants to hear and at the end of the day nothing will change because your mother is probably aware of this fact.

I think your mother has an issue with something specific. If she doesn't want to talk about it, it's something you probably don't want to hear.

You can change it, but you must do something that will have an impact on her. For instance, if you haven't ever told her that you're worried, do so, but if you have and she didn't change you'll need to come up with something better than just words.

Good luck.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Impressive)
    You can change it,
    Actually, no. You can't. You cannot change your Mother's behaviour. You did not cause it. You cannot cure it.

Get yourself to Alateen. They can help you learn to cope.
    http://al-anon.org/for-alateen

(Original post by HFBS)