Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Name:  image.jpeg
Views: 39
Size:  22.1 KB

Hey guys,
    I need some advice as I want to buy a pair of hiking boots.
    First of all can women wear 'mens' hiking boots, what is the difference?
    The ones i want are 'Verbera Hiker II Goretex Boots' i am a size 8 1/2 to 9.
    Is there anything else that needs to be considered?

Regards
    RickmanAlways

ReputationRep:
    I'm a guy but my last few pairs of boots have been womens' because I'm a size 6. The difference is visuals and size range, nothing that actually matters.

You're probably best googling it or finding a proper hiking forum for advice on specific boots as I doubt there'll be enough people here who have tried those specific boots. I had a pair of North Face that I got in a discount place and they lasted me for years so my general impression of them is positive but I'm far from a proper hiker, most of the time they were just my wet weather shoes

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by RickmanAlways)
    First of all can women wear 'mens' hiking boots, what is the difference?
    Mens boots tend to fit slightly wider in general.

If you have wide feet a men's boot might fit slightly better.

The ones i want are 'Verbera Hiker II Goretex Boots' i am a size 8 1/2 to 9.
    Is there anything else that needs to be considered?
    You're best off trying a range of different boots and size fittings - aesthetics is one of the worst criteria for choosing a suitable hiking boot! I love the look of Asolos but I have never been able to find a pair that fit me properly or are comfortable.

Other things to think about:
    1) Weight - 500g on your feet equates to carrying an extra 2.5kg on your back. It might not sound much but you will notice the difference with a lighter boot after a day in the mountains.