Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I'm hoping to apply for a masters course and it requires a 2:1 or above. Given that all other aspects of the application are good, how much higher up does a first class degree put you on the applicant list than a 2:1?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    In terms of Employment:

NO

Work experience and 2:1 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> >>>>> 1st

In terms of Masters application , not sure but I would assume yes but very slightly

ReputationRep:
    Yes, it definitely makes a difference. It's difficult to quantify as it's just one part of the application. But it counts.

When I got my PhD funding, the application was based on a points system. One set of points came from the applicant's academic achievements. In the end, my total score was exactly on the border needed. So if I hadn't got a first, I wouldn't have got funding.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by helpmekid)
    In terms of Employment:

NO

Work experience and 2:1 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> >>>>> 1st

In terms of Masters application , not sure but I would assume yes but very slightly
    Work experience and 1st >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 2:1.
    Stop being silly you can easily have a first and work experience, in fact you're more likely to secure that internship with a first. The two aren't mutually exclusive.

MrBean1994
    Yes a 1st will make you more appealing than a 2.1 both to employers and postgraduate admissions as it shows you to be the best of the best. There is no order in which applications are processed (to the best of my knowledge), but for waiting lists firsts are placed on the top of the pecking order.

ReputationRep:
    It will make life easier, there's no denying it. But that is not to say that a 2.1 will not get you into most postgraduate courses in the U.K.

ReputationRep: