Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Feel so self-conscious in the gym Watch

ReputationRep:
    How can you stop feeling so self-conscious and awkward in the gym? It's something I've recently discovered I actually enjoy. TBH at this stage I only really go on the treadmill and cross-trainer as I'm quite new to the whole gym thing. I love it in there when it's quiet but when it's busy I feel so intimidated. I feel like people are looking down on me, thinking, 'that girl doesn't even know what she's doing' and stuff.

ReputationRep:
    Two simple things you can do.

1) Go with a friend.

2) Make sure you do actually know what you are doing. Research online, ask a trainer etc.

Feeling intimidated is normal when you start something new in public, be it amateur dramatics, a music group or whatever. You will habituate to the feeling in time. Also, check out the "spotlight effect": https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spotlight_effect

ReputationRep:
    Guess you haven't tried the group classes/workouts then I'm pretty sure you don't have to pay on top of your gym membership fee to attend them, unlike with personal training. If you can make a friend(s) off the group classes/workouts you'd be feeling a lot more content and confident

ReputationRep:
    Also remember, no one truly comes out of the womb like a muscular baby. They all start as amatuers. Probably feeling the same. Listen to some songs that pump you up and make you strut rather than walk. For me they're songs like Eye of the Tiger, AC/DC stuff, Miss Alissa by Eagles of Death Metal, etc.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    Its in your head.
    Its a common feeling but the answer is always the same.

Nobody is interested in you or what you are doing as they are more interested in themselves.

Things that can help:

1. Have a plan and routine so you know what it is you are doing. Dont just do cardio, but get a basic resistance routine and do that 3x a week.