Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I'll keep it short, and elaborate later if need be.

I'm currently in my first year at uni, studying journalism. I work part time too, as a teacher of sorts (I am a swimming instructor) and absolutely love it. Originally I was planning a career in journalism or some similar media career path. However, after working with children, in my current job, for 3 years now, I have realised just how much teaching is meant for me.

There is a particular school which I walk past on the way to uni, and I actually teach a few children who currently attend. All are fantastic children who really are a testament to the high quality of teacher and discipline etc at the school. I did a bit of research into the school and have absolutely fallen in love with it. There are a couple of vacancies there at the moment actually (not that it's of any relevance to me right now, being in my first year at uni still).

The school's ethos really appeals to me, and I feel I'd fit perfectly.

I'm already thinking I would love to teach for them once I've graduated as a NQT. What can I do exactly to boost my chances of getting in with them?

I mean both in terms of present & future.

That didn't really end up being brief at all. Apologies.

Thanks,
    James

ReputationRep:
    I would focus on your current degree, and volunteer at this school. You will get your foot in the door and get to know if teaching is really for you.

You would need some (if not vast) classroom experience before a PGCE or alternative so you would be killing two birds with one stone here. You would get expierence and your foot in the door. I would also check UCAS to see if there are any ITT programmes at this school