Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

This may take a little while to write so thank you in advance if you read it all! I’m a mature student at university and generally struggling. I’m sitting in a cafe at the moment as I needed to get out and walk. I am in my second year and previously studied other things, so this was a decision for a career change.

Before coming back to University my confidence was quite high, or at least normal. Since starting I feel like I’ve been pushed back into my school days somehow. Many of the things that happened in school seem to be happening again and the atmosphere feels really quite similar. I’ve lost a lot of confidence, and I’m not sure why. I’ve made quite a lot of friends, but something has pushed my confidence back. It might simply be the stress of aiming high. Other than that, I have friends I compare myself to – and they don’t mean to do it, but they will often be condescending toward me – lightly/jokingly teasing me about things that most people would laugh about, but with me, for some reason since coming back to University, I I’m finding things like that to really knock me. An example to give you a clue as to what I mean:

The other day I walked into my living room of my flat (I have 3 flat mates). One of them had asked friends round. I do enjoy meeting new people, so I said hi and spoke for a short while. One of them asked “When do you work whilst studying?” – I said “Part time, so yeah not full time”. Then one of them said “part time not full time, thanks for the reminder”. Usually I’d find this funny or not care at all, but it really upset me. Little things like that seem to be getting to me, and obviously things like that happen all the time – hence a slowly corroding self esteem and confidence.