Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

First class law student with a psychological complex Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys I just wanted to get something off my chest

I'm a second year law student at a Russell Group university. Last year I got 73%, which was the highest grade in the year. However, achieving this is now really stressing me out. When I started university, I just wanted to scrape a 2.1 so I could get a grad job (I want to be a solicitor). But now all I want to do is get the highest grade again in my year, which just places enormous pressure on me for each assignment. Additionally, although i've got firsts in all three of the assingments that I've had this year, they haven't been as high as other people, which is just stressing me out even more. I know this is all just ridiculous. I shouldn't be comparing myself to others, and even if I were to get a 2.1, it is still really good. But given the standard that I've set myself last year, and how competitive the legal industry is, I want to consistently achieve highly. I'm struggling to handle the pressure i'm putitng on myself. I don't even know why i'm posting on here, just wanted to let it out.

ReputationRep:
    I'm not quite sure why you chose the username wasteman, that can't be helping how you're feeling.

Also you've achieved a first in all the assignments you had this year, that's very good. A first is a first. I got a first overall in my law degree and I've completed my LPC too. When I've gone for interviews never have I been asked for exact percentages. Trust me your actual mark doesn't even matter. It's amazing that you're getting 70% + it's such an achievement. Stop putting unnecessary pressure on yourself and comparing yourself to others.

ReputationRep: