Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an European student that was living and working in Manchester before moving to Glasgow in 2014. As I was moving from Manchester, I could not apply for SAAS but for SFE.

Since I could not prove that I had been living in the UK for three years before starting my BA in Psychology (I could only provide documentation for 2 years and 7 months) I was advised to apply as a migrant worker. Before the start of my course I had been working for the same company as a retail assistant for more than a year and had a permanent contract. I sent all the documentation I was asked for and received the full package, thus I was considered as a migrant worker.

This year it has been completely different. I sent all the documentation in September. My situation was exactly the same, although I had a new permanent contract as I could not carry on working on weekdays. This contract establishes that the minimum of hours I have to work is 8, although as my payslips show (and I have also sent you by letter) the total amount of hours vary depending on the week. Before changing my contract, I contacted SFE explaining how I was unable to attend some of my lectures and tutorials and my need for changing my contract. Their answer was that it should be fine, as there is not a minimum of hours established that you have to work as a migrant worker.

In January, after waiting over 4 months, I was sent an email saying the following:
    provide copies of your April to July 2015 payslips; of your December 2015 to date payslips, to enable us to additionally release your second installment; and copies of both your past and current contracts.