The Student Room Group

Stay in Medicine or Pursue Academia?

Hello,

I am currently a third year medical student, recently (last ~6 months) I have been seriously questioning my reasoning for doing medicine and whether it is really the right path for me. Pre-Clinical studies I really enjoyed and found physiology and the basic science side of things fascinating. Clinical medicine though has not continued to provide that fascination/drive.

The more I think about it the more I find my interests and personality lean more toward the side of pursuing a career in academic basic science research.

However, what I am unsure of is should I simply crack on with the next 2 years and graduate then pursue a PhD or would I be better off pursuing an academic foundation/clinical fellowship etc pathway?

Any advice help would be great.
I think you have many potential options if you wanted to pursue a more academic route either inside or outside of medicine.

Firstly it is fairly natural to have your sense of motivation go up and down, especially during clinical years where there is often a big jump from being a normal university student to basically being a student doctor. If you are questioning whether medicine is for you I would recommend you speak to your careers lead and/or tutor because this does happen and they do have experience talking through the options.

Given you are in third year I wonder if you have the option to intercalate? I personally took a year out to do a Masters in Research which was primarily lab based and gave me a masters level qualification that would help me get a PhD irrespective of how I do in medicine (about half the students were bio-medical graduates and/or on 4 year PhDs). This would seem like a relatively safe way to get some academic experience without having to give up medicine. In fact one person who intercalated ended up going directly into a PhD (although he does intend to come back and finish his medical degree afterwards!).