Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Sheffield Hallam is my first choice only been there once. Just wanted to know what the city is like. Is it safe near uni campuses and the diversity?
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by Bolt15)
    Sheffield Hallam is my first choice only been there once. Just wanted to know what the city is like. Is it safe near uni campuses and the diversity?
    Hey Bolt15,

I studied at Sheffield Hallam and it's a really great student city. 1 in 10 people in the city are students, so everything is aimed towards you - from the pubs and clubs to the restaurants, cafes, shopping hotspots and pretty much everything in between. Everything is in walking distance to the campus, train station and accommodation too so you'll never need to go very far to find everything you need.

Loads of students always say Sheffield is really safe. It's obviously an idea to keep your wits about you no matter where you are in the country, but it's one of the safest cities to be in and I always feel comfortable here any time of the day.

I came from Newcastle, which is quite a big city, and fell in love with Sheffield. It's still big (the fifth biggest in the country) but has a lovely friendly feel to it. You always bump into people you know, everyone knows everyone, and it's a very supportive place.

We're really big on our music in Sheffield and there's around 70 gig venues, ranging from 02 Academy and other gig giants to small basement venues and old converted cinemas and ballrooms. We have loads of festivals in Sheffield too including Tramlines, our huge inner-city music festival which comes to us every July for a weekend of partying. It attracts 100,000 people so it's a pretty big deal.