Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey! I'm going to be studying at Durham for 4 years as an International Student, I have family savings to pay 3 years of the tuition and accommodation, but it's very expensive... Is it posible to as for a student loan to pay the last year of study and accommodation? and if it is.. how? when do i apply and where? I'm an UK national, but I haven't lived in the UK for many years so I'm being counted as international for now.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    International students aren't entitled to a student loan for accommodation or tuition, I'm afraid.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by patongirl)
    Hey! I'm going to be studying at Durham for 4 years as an International Student, I have family savings to pay 3 years of the tuition and accommodation, but it's very expensive... Is it posible to as for a student loan to pay the last year of study and accommodation? and if it is.. how? when do i apply and where? I'm an UK national, but I haven't lived in the UK for many years so I'm being counted as international for now.
    You mention that you are a UK national so do you have a UK or European passport? If so then you should be be classed as a home student and not be paying international student fees. You need to let the University know.
    • Section Leader
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by poem09)
    You mention that you are a UK national so do you have a UK or European passport? If so then you should be be classed as a home student and not be paying international student fees. You need to let the University know.
    No. Fee status is based on residency not nationality. If OP lives outside UK/EU they are classed as International.

http://www.ukcisa.org.uk/Information...gher-Education