Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Oxford University Pre-Masters/Graduate Admissions Questions Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

I'm Canadian, and thinking of applying to Oxford University's pre-masters program in diplomacy. I graduated from the University of Toronto with an Honours Bachelor of Arts, however I dealt with a lot of mental health issues during my undergrad, and my grades are really lacking as a result (2.1 GPA, 61% overall).

I've taken a year out since my graduation to really figure out my mental state, and feel so much better. I know my grades aren't a result of being educationally challenged, but rather, a difficult period in my life. I was dealing with something that I had never dealt with before, and that seemingly came out of nowhere. I know I can succeed at a highly-ranked institution.

Anyway, I was thinking of applying to the Pre-Masters program. I was wondering if anyone with below average grades has ever successfully completed the Diplomacy course at Oxford, and gone on to study at the institution, or anywhere similar? Is there a point to me doing the (very expensive!) program? Will it actually bridge the academic gap, provided I excel in the course? Any insight would be very much appreciated!

Also, I am beginning applications to other schools in the UK, and wonder if I should include my struggles with mental health (specifically, OCD) in my personal statement...

I have a letter of recommendation from a very well published, and highly regarded professor in the field. Do you think an explanation of my poor grades in a personal statement, this letter and the pre-masters course will allow me entry into a graduate program I feel I am fit for?

Thank-you!
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    Clearing and Applications Advisor