Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,

I'm currently studying all the level 1 modules for Computing & IT and Statistics: My Digital Life, Essential Mathematics 1, and Introducing Statistics.

I've found that My Digital Life has been extremely dull, and I've learned almost nothing new from it. By contrast, Essential Mathematics 1 has been a really fascinating and enjoyable module.

I'm curious as to the opinions of anyone who has studied computing and/or mathematics modules with the Open University before as to whether it's more worthwhile to study mathematics with the OU than computing? It seems like their maths department is far better than their computing department, at least so far.

Do you think it'd be worth changing to mathematics?

ReputationRep:
    I did some maths modules and then switched to computing because I find it a million times easier and my aim is just to get a degree.

Personally, I'd say that maths is more worthwhile. Main complaint about computing is that some of the materials are very dated in parts. In one module, two tutors are posting conflicting TMA advice on the forum although that could happen in other subjects too. Also, I did a programming based module and found it quite spoonfed with lots of TMA questions very, very similar to questions answered in the module materials. IMO, I don't think computing modules get harder after TU100; they just get more specific and the TMAs get longer.

Which L2/3 computing modules were you considering?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 1203)
    I did some maths modules and then switched to computing because I find it a million times easier and my aim is just to get a degree.