Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys this is my first post on these forums so apologies if I do/say something wrong.

So I'm in my final year of university, BA Sports Coaching and Development at the University of Derby, expecting at least a 2:1. I came to uni to do this course because my A-levels were bad (more on that later), anyway its coming up to the final stint now and the only reasonable outcome I can see is going into teaching. This is not an issue because I always thought that teaching would be my 'back-up' although I didn't really have a first choice so to speak.

The first problem with this is that my degree is basically Physical Education, of which there is almost no funding for trainee teachers. Ideally I would want the shortest training possible if it was unpaid, although I understand that these things take time. I have looked into the Teach First method of getting QTS but at this moment I can't get hold of my GCSE and A-level grades. I know I have 5 GCSE's at C or above including Maths, English and Science, but my A level's were terrible. DDE. Hence why i'm not on one of my first choice courses (International Relations incase anyone was wondering).

Really what I want to know is two things, peoples thoughts on the kind of jobs (Graduate or not) that i could look into, I'm open to doing a wide range of things and like new challenges although I don't want to be too far from home.

Also would my poor A-levels and degree that is not really in demand hold me back from going into teaching?

Thanks, Ben.

ReputationRep: