Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    In need of some advice
    I'm in my first year at Newcastle studying mech eng, and while I'm not exactly struggling with the course, I'm not particularly enjoying it either. Some of the modules (particularly materials, design+manufacture and dynamics) aren't as interesting as what I expected, and because the content bores me I find the workload even worse than it already is.
    I've had a look at the modules covered in maths and they seem to be quite engaging and varied too, and hopefully there's less contact hours too (even if it means I have to do more work outside lectures).
    Should I go for the change? I don't know how different my prospects will be for my career choices after uni and I have no clue what I want to do with my life after uni yet, so I guess I'm just looking for advice and opinions, maybe even someone who's done it could tell me how it worked out for them if I'm lucky haha
    Thanks
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by Goldenballs97)
    In need of some advice
    I'm in my first year at Newcastle studying mech eng, and while I'm not exactly struggling with the course, I'm not particularly enjoying it either. Some of the modules (particularly materials, design+manufacture and dynamics) aren't as interesting as what I expected, and because the content bores me I find the workload even worse than it already is.
    I've had a look at the modules covered in maths and they seem to be quite engaging and varied too, and hopefully there's less contact hours too (even if it means I have to do more work outside lectures).