Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am in my first year of university and realized that I haven't made any meaningful friendships, whilst I feel like everyone around me has a blooming social life. I have always been extroverted and have never had problems making friends, (moved to so many different schools and barely ever felt like I was struggling to fit in). This has had a huge toll on my self esteem and feel alone and isolated. I have tried to make more friends but they have either shunned me or just made better friendships with other people on the way. There are a few people I know better than others but this is definitely not the life I pictured at university. I cannot see myself living through another 2 and a half years of this if it continues. Does anyone have any advice, or similar stories I might relate to?
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by millie334325)
    I am in my first year of university and realized that I haven't made any meaningful friendships, whilst I feel like everyone around me has a blooming social life. I have always been extroverted and have never had problems making friends, (moved to so many different schools and barely ever felt like I was struggling to fit in). This has had a huge toll on my self esteem and feel alone and isolated. I have tried to make more friends but they have either shunned me or just made better friendships with other people on the way. There are a few people I know better than others but this is definitely not the life I pictured at university. I cannot see myself living through another 2 and a half years of this if it continues. Does anyone have any advice, or similar stories I might relate to?
    Are you a part of any societies?