Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

English language requirements for Columbia? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi
    I have applied for the MA in Economics course at Columbia. I am an international student but my first language is English. My application has a giant, red cross besides the "english language requirement" section since I haven't written my TOEFL or IELTS yet. Most colleges that I have applied to seem to only require them afterwards, but I'm worried that Columbia isn't one of those colleges. Columbia also states that if my country's (I'm from India btw) official language is english, then I dont need to submit the test scores, but I'm worried that Columbia doesn't think that India's official language is English.

Anyone have any experiences regarding this?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AntisocialFatman)
    Hi
    I have applied for the MA in Economics course at Columbia. I am an international student but my first language is English. My application has a giant, red cross besides the "english language requirement" section since I haven't written my TOEFL or IELTS yet. Most colleges that I have applied to seem to only require them afterwards, but I'm worried that Columbia isn't one of those colleges. Columbia also states that if my country's (I'm from India btw) official language is english, then I dont need to submit the test scores, but I'm worried that Columbia doesn't think that India's official language is English.

Usually, they will ignore the requirement, or waive it, for one of two reasons: you come from a country where English is the official language, or one of them; or, your first degree was conducted in English, either at a university in one of the aforementioned countries, or at an English-speaking university in a non-English country, as long as it is documented as such.