Turn on thread page Beta

going through a difficult time watch

i'm in my first year of uni, and it's not what I expected. I don't particularly like the group of 'friends' I've made and are meant to be living with next year. I miss my old friends and don't feel like I can make proper connections and be myself. ive become very withdrawn and feel as if I'm suffering with social anxiety/avoidant personality disorder. I've been trying to excercise/eat healthy and read up on all the facts, but I don't really know what to do in order to start feeling happier?
    I feel like I'm constantly putting myself down and thinking people won't like me, and thinking back to how happy I used to be and it just makes me feel really sad how much has changed I just don't want it to get any worse as it seems to be doing.
    can anyone offer any support or know any self help books/treatment I could look into? thanks

ReputationRep:
    Have you considered talking to a counselor at your university about how you're feeling?

You could also try, seeing as you think you might be suffering from SA or AvPD, talking to your GP and perhaps getting referred to a psychologist for CBT. There are medications you can take for social anxiety but I think CBT is better if you can get it.

Would you consider that you perhaps have depression? Just reading about how you feel sad.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Sabertooth)
    Have you considered talking to a counselor at your university about how you're feeling?

You could also try, seeing as you think you might be suffering from SA or AvPD, talking to your GP and perhaps getting referred to a psychologist for CBT. There are medications you can take for social anxiety but I think CBT is better if you can get it.

Would you consider that you perhaps have depression? Just reading about how you feel sad.
    Hi, yeah i've been trying to register at a GP around my area but none of them are taking anyone else on