Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi all

I'm a third year medical student, and coming up are my first clinically-focussed exams -- by which I mean exams where we need to know the signs and symptoms different conditions present with.

I don't really know the best way to approach this. I've made my notes, with a summery of the history and examination findings for each presentation, but actually learning it I really don't know where to begin. Each condition has so many signs/symptoms, and without actually having seen a lot of the conditions I'm finding it quite abstract and very difficult.

Anyway, I imagine this is a problem many medics have faced over the years, so any advice of the best way to cement this into my head would be greatly appreciated!

JBTP

I don't think it is mentally possible to remember every possible sign and symptom for every core condition and I am not sure that would ever be expected. It sounds like you have a good basis for core learning and reference already which is a nice position to actually be in! I'm soon to take finals and I still haven't finished my third year notes...

Patients rarely actually present with a logical collection of symptoms and there is a lot of overlap in symptoms between conditions. Once you have that core knowledge about conditions I found it easier to instead think about core presentations and that is what I made flash cards on. I honestly think you will go mad if you try to fully memorise every sign and symptom rather than focusing on what differentiates conditions and the common presenting symptoms.