Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I wanted to know from people with first hand experience what Geology at RHUL is like?

I got a very good impression from the applicant day but would like to get a bit more personal insight from others.

Pros / Cons.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Hi Meegas,I studied Geology at Royal Holloway (Gradutaing 2015) so not that long ago.It was such a great course. I recently spoke to a few of my friends who are now studying elsewhere and they said that the level and quality of teaching where they are currently studying does not compare with RH.I remember visiting the college on a UCAS day there (i think they've changed them now), and everyone was so personable and it felt like there was a real sense of community.

Pros
    - Programme is really good giving you an all round knowledge of geology.
    - Great field trips and the cost were covered (you may need to check about this for you)
    - World leaders in research (I referenced my lecturers about 7 or 8 times covering a few different topics in my final year).
    - We had access to our building 24/7 so we could do our work and use the departmental computers out of office hours (although, i only needed to do this in third year).
    - SO much support. I remember going to my lecturers outside of office hours (even up to 11pm some nights).

Cons
    - I know some of the lecturers were approaching retiring age and did mention it briefly whilst I was there.
    - Being in Surrey meant we were quite far away from most geological sites of interest and a lot of 'geological' companies. This wasn't so bad in the end thought because this meant more (and longer) trips.

I struggle massively with the cons as I had a great time overall!One can never fully 'compare' because you can only study your undergraduate in one place.If you have any questions, just let me know.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by NIallM)