Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Job prospects, activities for dependants and others / Edinburgh, Dundee, London Watch

ReputationRep:
    Dear all,

I recently joined this forum, so hi to you all

I'm an international student (from South America) and I intend to study in the UK starting Sept/Oct 2016 (MSc). So far, I have offers from UCL, the University of Edinburgh and the University of Dundee.

I'm in the process of exploring these three options and also doing the math to see if it would be feasible to attend even if I don't obtain a major scholarship. The plan would also incluide going with my girlfriend.

I would really appreciate your input on the following:

1) With the estimations I have done so far, the most convenient option (i.e. less debt) would be attending the University of Dundee. Here goes the question:

How likely is it obtain a typical student part-time job in Dundee compared to Edinburgh? What about when comparing Edinburgh to London?

My girlfriend intends to work part-time while we're there and study English, so this interests me quite a bit.

2) How wide do you perceive the gap between the University of Dundee and the University of Edinburgh in terms of actual education received/prestige/employer appeal in Social Sciences?

I'm aware of the rankings, but I'd appreciate more qualitative information you may share. As I mentioned, Dundee is the best option so far in terms of money, but if the gap is too wide I might consider going into a bit more debt (depressing, but oh well).

3) Thanks for your answers!

ReputationRep:
    Worth bearing in mind that you won't be able to bring your girlfriend into the UK as a partner, so she needs to get a visa on her own merits. She can't get a visa to cone to the UK to work part-time. If she wants to come on a study visa, she will need to be a full-time student.

ReputationRep: