Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi my daughter is due to graduate in July with a Law degree and is now struggling to get advice and guidance for her to progress in family Law. She is experiencing rejections when she tries to apply for scholarships or work experience her university seems to favour corporate law not family law. Does anyone have any advice or guidance that would help her? Please??
    Thank you

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I do not have any experience with family law, however I am a Trainee Solicitor and therefore I have endured the process of obtaining work experience.

The problem with obtaining work experience in 'non-corporate' areas is that the firms who generally practise these areas do no have formal work experience programmes. This makes accessing work experience that bit more difficult as you have to obtain the contacts yourself.

My advice would be for her to contact local firms directly via email. The majority of firms will have websites with information on their 'teams' and therefore your daughter should be able to work out what the firm does in relation to family law and who specifically does it. I would advise her to email one of the senior solicitors in the department and tell them of her current position (3rd year student) and what she is after (work experience). Your daughter may get a few refusals (or simply get ignored), however she'll probably find someone who is willing to take her on - she only needs to get lucky once!