Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

How much more challenging is a masters at a Russell group uni? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi.

I completed a Computer Science degree in 2014 and achieved a First. I then started working in industry for a 18 months and now I am looking to complete a masters.

But my concern is this: The university of which I completed my honours degree wasn't that reputable; in fact it was around the middle-lower third of the rankings table.

Would I be able to cope with academic demands of one of the top 10 uni's? (The one I am looking to apply for is very close to where I live, so would be convenient too) In terms of the subject I am confident in my abilities. But would it be a serious step-up in work load?

Cheers

ReputationRep:
    Yes.

ReputationRep:
    don't worry you will be fine. ofcourse you will have to try but just because a university is more reputable doesnt necessarily mean that it is harder.

ReputationRep:
    I did my undergrad at a post-92 and a Masters at an RG. It was a step up, but a logical one. The workload was heavy - the same amount of coursework each term as I'd done in my entire third year - but I managed it. That isn't peculiar to RG unis - a Masters anywhere is likely to be a very intense academic year.

I wouldn't get tangled up with the lower/higher ranking thing. At postgrad level it's a bit of a red herring. Just make sure that you're really interested in your Masters subject and be prepared to slog for twelve months. You'll be fine.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JamieBriggs)
    Would I be able to cope with academic demands of one of the top 10 uni's? (The one I am looking to apply for is very close to where I live, so would be convenient too) In terms of the subject I am confident in my abilities. But would it be a serious step-up in work load?