Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So first off, I am currently studying for my AS levels in Media, English Literature and Art.

I'd ideally like to go the UBC and major in english. I hope to get A*AB in my A- Levels (or at least A*BB). However I didn't do so good in my GCSEs, i was going through a bad point and just kinda ended up with average results. (7 B's 3 C's)

So my question is, am i screwed? Do GCSE's pay a big part in UBC admissions? Is it worth me applying? Is there anything else I can do to help my chances of getting in?

I would really like some help as UBC is my ideal university and I need some advice on this matter.

Thank you
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by da.isy)
    I would really like some help as UBC is my ideal university and I need some advice on this matter.

Thank you
    Hey!

First off, UBC has a beautiful campus. Vancouver is probably the nicest city I have ever been to, so definitely a great choice!

There's no set criteria when it comes to applying to universities or courses - it would first be wise to check if UBC gives any direct requirements which you need to meet, that may clear things up quickly.
    If you're wanting to major in English, the main grades they will look at will, obviously, be your English grades. If you do well in English, then you will give yourself a good chance in applying.

North American universities favour those who do extra-curricular activities. Think about what you can do to stand out from others; there will be many people who just have good grades. Do some volunteering, since you're interested in English see if you can get experience working in journalism or for a newspaper/magazine, join some kind of project, etc. This is a really good way of showing them that you're interested in the major and that you're wanting to work.