Turn on thread page Beta

Repeating GCSE maths for better grade advice watch

ReputationRep:
    i got a C last year in GCSE maths and am repeating this may and june for an a/b as i want to study economics at uni i am currently studying 3 alevels, looking advice starting a tutor and have 3 months to relearn the syllabus i attained a mid C. looking advice whether i should study economics at uni in the first place if i need the maths help that if i work really hard should it be okay

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by hollsbee)
    i got a C last year in GCSE maths and am repeating this may and june for an a/b as i want to study economics at uni i am currently studying 3 alevels, looking advice starting a tutor and have 3 months to relearn the syllabus i attained a mid C. looking advice whether i should study economics at uni in the first place if i need the maths help that if i work really hard should it be okay
    I think it would be best if you resit that C in order to get an A (be more ambitious ).

Universities do look for students with a B or above in GCSE for Mathematics. However what matters most is your A Levels, some universities do ask for an A Level in Mathematics – you'd have to look into which university you are interested in for that. Other than that, even if some universities do not ask for it I would recommend you do resit it for your own benefit, as Economics does involve a lot of Mathematics (mostly financial mathematics).

If you want any help with your revision for your Mathematics GCSE here are a few tips:
    • Work through the ExamSolutions videos if you ever feel you feel like you are stuck on any section
    • Feel free to post in the TSR GCSE Maths Forum if you are unsure about something (make sure provide the question and what you have already done)
    • Do every single past paper
    • Mark your papers and see where you have gone wrong
    • Look to do IGCSE papers once you have done all of the GCSE ones
    I hope this helps.