Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently doing an apprenticeship and the people at work are making my life a misery.. It's got to the point where I feel sick and have panic attacks about going in to work.
    The doctor has recently signed me off for 2 weeks with stress due to work.
    Does anyone know what would happen if I left my apprenticeship? Would my college course already be paid for so I can continue it or do I need to find the money to pay for it?

ReputationRep:
    Hi I'm sorry to hear that your struggling with your apprenticeship. I'm an apprentice myself...

I would start by looking for an alternative other than leaving?
    I don't know the size of the company but whether you can move teams or offices and continue your apprenticeship just in a different setting. This conversation could be had with someone above your line manager/mentor to avoid the awkwardness.

Also is your company aware that you've been signed off for this reason?
    I know it will be difficult conversation to have but if they are having this effect on you someone within the company should be told especially because it has had an effect on your mental health.

Once the above two options have been seriously considered and you do have to/need to leave.
    Apprenticeships work on a frame work which means the company you work for and the college you go to get given funding to train you. if you leave the company the agreement obviously gets broken, I work for a large engineering firm and I'm sure I've seen legislation around this subject internally, I'm pretty sure for me the consequences would vary depending on how my apprenticeship was terminated; whether it be illness or performance or for some other reason.

So I would speak to someone regarding the process, whether its someone within the recruitment team that hired you or possibly through your learning provider as they are likely to be neutral.